I am a mess.


The other drowning
February 24, 2002 @ 3:23 p.m.

I'm sorry that this diary isn't all that it could be. This could have been so much more. I have so much potential. Honest, I do.

As you can see, my mood has fallen. Why do I always get fucking melancholy after I say I'm happy?

That doesn't make much sense.

"I begged you not to go.

I begged you, I pleaded.

Claimed you as my only hope

and watched the floor as you retreated......"

I'm falling further and further. Both Jessica and I realize it. She knows I'm heading for a very dangerous place.

I know I'm already there.

And I'm not talking about my typical drowning, over-my-head suicide speak. I'm talking of my other drowning.

But I enjoy it too much.

It's too sunny today. I wish the sun would fade back into my mood, grey, quiet.

Shhh. Listen.

You can hear the quiet.

And I like the fact that I can breathe you in and be filled for a while. I only have to see you once a week and I'm okay.

It's those long months that always get me.

And I want you to talk to me instead of me always talking to you. It's not that fair that I always have to give.

I'm not going to be weak, speak to you. But you don't see it as that. Why do I?

I make things too complicated. You like to just let things flow.

And that's why I truly think I could never be with you. Because you're my other drowning, and in being my other drowning you seem to just cause more problems anyway.

I like problems.

The other drowning. Why can't it be simple? Why can't I just accept the fact I'll be alone for a while?

A long while?

Perhaps forever?

Perhaps it's okay.

Perhaps most nights I won't think of you as I fall asleep, wishing you were in my arms.

Perhaps I'll stop equating love with sex. Sex with obsession. Obsession with love.

Perhaps I should start being truthful to myself.

The other drowning will always be one-sided.



<< | >>

- - March 22, 2010
always the same - July 01, 2008
b-a-n-a-n-a-s! - December 25, 2006
elementary again - October 29, 2006
I don't like you, but I love you - October 03, 2006

[navigate]
new
old
profile
notes
sign
cast
design
diaryland