I am a mess.


the concert
July 18, 2003 @ 2:47 p.m.

Since Bobby updated about the concert, I suppose I should too, even though I'm still not awake.

I left my house around six, and drove south to get Bobby in Iowa City. He jumped in the car, we headed back north. Stopped at McDonald's in Cedar Rapids so he could get something to eat. Then we headed for Jesup.

It was an easy drive, although we thought perhaps it was going to rain. I taught Bobby a little trick: look for cows. If they're all circled together, then it's going to rain.

...I am so from Iowa.

We listened to Nirvana, and Bright Eyes, and Desparacidos. Talked a lot about music -- and I talked about As Ad/Dufresne some.

The concert must have started promptly at eight, because we got there ten minutes late and the first band was already playing. I'm rather glad we missed the beginning of it, because they sucked so bad it was almost amusing. They played all of their songs (mostly Green Day covers), and then, because they had more time...they played them again.

Yes. Again.

Oh, it was painful. They finally stopped. I don't remember their name, that's how wonderful they were.

After a half an hour of setting up, this weird 1950's big band Jerry Lewis-type setup started playing. It was basically the same song over and over. The bass line was the same (which David played while looking extremely bored), the drums were the same, everything except maybe the piano.

His name was Clint, and he was pretty good. But when you're going to see punk rock, and you get Jerry Lewis, it's a little disorienting.

They were done in less time then it took them to set up....and we sat. David got all obsessive with his setting-up, plus they were waiting for Drew to get back from a play he was doing in Waterloo, apparently.

So Bobby and I sat on the infamous "bench" and discussed things. He's having a problem with this girl, and we talked about how stupid she was and how she needed to die.

Finally the band was ready to play, so we headed up to be near.

Drew was lead singer, as I suspected. Mitch was on bass (looking more and more like Drew since I've seen him last -- they're brothers), and David played lead guitar, keyboard, and controlled the computer that played the drums for them. *swoonthud*

Through a couple of broken strings, being a little out of tune, and not being able to hear Drew's voice all too well, they made a pretty good set. Short, but good. I'm honestly glad I went.

So I took Bobby home, managed to fall asleep by 3:30, and was wide awake by six-thirty this morning.

My head hurts.



<< | >>

- - March 22, 2010
always the same - July 01, 2008
b-a-n-a-n-a-s! - December 25, 2006
elementary again - October 29, 2006
I don't like you, but I love you - October 03, 2006

[navigate]
new
old
profile
notes
sign
cast
design
diaryland