I am a mess.


a good day. take note.
February 22, 2004 @ 3:17 p.m.

Today was a good day, a day of renewal and family and church -- yes, even church. I was there for a baptism of my second cousin Samantha, and although no hand of God came down to bless me, or breath of God to whisper the meaning of it all into my ear, it was comforting to be in my old church. It was comforting remembering the Lord's Prayer, and recitation came easily from my mouth into my cousin Anders's ear as he listened and grinned, like he always does.

I held Anders and he bounced and danced and grinned to Father Mark's acapella version of "This Little Light of Mine", and then there was my aunt Pat and uncle Terry's house, and lots of food and people I knew and laughter, like there always is at family get-togethers. And I held Samantha and growled with her when she growled, and fed her cereal and baby food bananas and grinned at her and she grinned back. And I held Anders and he grinned at me and I grinned back and whispered to him in baby voices.

I was surrounded by people genuinely concerned with my welfare, and whether I was getting enough to eat, and interested in sharing laughs with me. And it was a good day.

Feeling: much better.

Listening to: "Baby Boy" by Beyonce is in my head



<< | >>

- - March 22, 2010
always the same - July 01, 2008
b-a-n-a-n-a-s! - December 25, 2006
elementary again - October 29, 2006
I don't like you, but I love you - October 03, 2006

[navigate]
new
old
profile
notes
sign
cast
design
diaryland