I am a mess.


Hands Down
August 30, 2003 @ 1:14 p.m.

I don't know if it's God. I don't know if it's an illusion, like everything is an illusion. I don't know if it's luck.

But it always seems that when I'm sure that things cannot get any worse -- they get better.

I'm suddenly able to sleep a full night and wake up pleasantly chilly. I'm able to open my eyes and not see the sun -- no more heat, at least not today -- an Eden in itself. Suddenly it's sixty-five degrees and I'm drinking green tea and remaining unshowered. Suddenly I've finished a good book already and not begun to worry about homework, or money (stupid stupid money) or anything else there is to worry about.

Suddenly it doesn't matter what I look like in sleepy short-shorts and matching top, even as my legs go unshaved, my hair goes unwashed, and my breasts point to the ground.

Because this is the best day that I've had in a long time.

"Hands down this is the best day I can ever remember..."



<< | >>

- - March 22, 2010
always the same - July 01, 2008
b-a-n-a-n-a-s! - December 25, 2006
elementary again - October 29, 2006
I don't like you, but I love you - October 03, 2006

[navigate]
new
old
profile
notes
sign
cast
design
diaryland