I am a mess.


indentured student
August 13, 2003 @ 9:25 p.m.

It could be said that I don't know what my mother sacrificed for me to get in the place where I am today, but it could also be said that she does not know what I had to sacrifice to get there, either. She wanted me to go to college and so I did. I have tried to be a good daughter, live out my mother's dreams for me. I tried to be a good girl, get good grades. I have failed at finding a husband (I'm young yet, but what of young? It fades too quickly.)

But she never considered what I wanted. I claimed to want a college education -- but who could WANT that much debt? I'm beginning to learn that college is not for everyone, especially ones like me who are half-hearted in their attempts. I obtain good grades not by learning, but by cramming in the facts and then forgetting them after the exam. I know people who are *so* intelligent, and they do not have a bit of college behind their learning.

It sounds silly now, but to have a quiet little waitress job in a pub in England or Ireland is all I want now. I suppose that's too much to ask, indentured into my servitude as college student. But, truly, that's all I want.



<< | >>

- - March 22, 2010
always the same - July 01, 2008
b-a-n-a-n-a-s! - December 25, 2006
elementary again - October 29, 2006
I don't like you, but I love you - October 03, 2006

[navigate]
new
old
profile
notes
sign
cast
design
diaryland