I am a mess.


Overwhelming calm
July 21, 2003 @ 2:42 p.m.

Big storm last night. No, let me rephrase that. Big fucking-ass HUGE storm last night.

I was hanging out in the living room with my mother, watching the storms roll on on KCRG and trying not to fall asleep. We were chatting about how it wasn't gonna hit us and all that.

The sirens go off.

Mom called Sean and Sean's friend Mike down from his room and we all went in the basement. Sean brought Logan (our dog) down -- he was shaking like a leaf because he hates storms.

So basically we just hung out downstairs for a half hour. I cuddled up in my blanket and the boys goofed around with the flashlights. Our power went out early on, but with the flashlights and the candles I had lit, we could see.

Finally we go upstairs -- it was still lightning, but it had stopped raining. Mom and I stepped outside and there were branches everywhere. Some had landed near my car, and near Mike's car, but no damage, thank God.

Sean, Mike, and I decided to go driving around, so we hopped in my car and drove around my side of town. There were branches and trees everywhere -- power lines too. I had to dodge several trees that had fallen into streets around here.

It was still. Completely dark, completely quiet.

Really freaky.

Our power was out until about 7:30 this morning, so I fell asleep to the not-so-distant sound of sirens and the stillness.

An overwhelming calm.



<< | >>

- - March 22, 2010
always the same - July 01, 2008
b-a-n-a-n-a-s! - December 25, 2006
elementary again - October 29, 2006
I don't like you, but I love you - October 03, 2006

[navigate]
new
old
profile
notes
sign
cast
design
diaryland