I am a mess.


Friends -- a trifle unsettling
February 10, 2005 @ 8:18 p.m.

So I think I've decided what friends are all about. Friends are present in your life either to better you in some capacity or to make you look better. There's quite a difference between those two statements. The first one is to increase your knowledge, better your fashion sense, challenge and improve your arguments, increase your morality, whatever. The second one is to make you look prettier, more intelligent, thinner, more successful, more witty, and the like in relation to them.

People won't admit this. They'll say, "Friends that make me look better? No no, that's not the reason that someone has a friend." Come on. Don't be so idealistic. You know you have at least one friend that you keep on your roster for times when you need that kind of pick-me-up. The kind you look at and go, "Yep. I'm definitely better than they are."

Now all of my friends who read this are curious as to whether they are this type of friend to me, or the former kind. Well, I'm not going to tell anyone. It's just something I've been contemplating.

I know that I'm probably someone's "Make Me Feel Better" friend. I can think of at least...well, damn. Pretty much all of my friends are probably like this. I'm not sure if that's being overly pessimistic or just realistic, but I know I'm at least somebody's this.

It's a trifle unsettling.



<< | >>

- - March 22, 2010
always the same - July 01, 2008
b-a-n-a-n-a-s! - December 25, 2006
elementary again - October 29, 2006
I don't like you, but I love you - October 03, 2006

[navigate]
new
old
profile
notes
sign
cast
design
diaryland