I am a mess.


doused in mud, soaked in bleach
April 14, 2004 @ 9:53 a.m.

Today in my linguistics class, my teacher noted my lack of nonverbal communication. She told me that I should maybe work on it.

I asked, "Should I?"

Apparently that's a brilliant question, as she stopped on her little anti-rant and stared at me for a good ten seconds. "You know...that's a good question. No. A brilliant question. Indeed, a smile is different for people of different cultures. You're more like a Russian. You smile for a particular reason. And your humor -- you make a joke and don't laugh. You'd be suited for somewhere like Russia."

So apparently I'd fit in really well in Russia. Perhaps it's my Russian blood. Who knows.

Of course then someone else in the class had to chime in that she did a paper on lack of non-verbal expression and how it is often caused by some sort of brain damage.

Gee. Thanks.

Also, I've been having some real self-esteem issues lately. Been dressing in layers when it's really nice outside...you know. I'd go into specifics except I'm bored with this now.

Feeling: bored.

Listening to: other people talk.



<< | >>

- - March 22, 2010
always the same - July 01, 2008
b-a-n-a-n-a-s! - December 25, 2006
elementary again - October 29, 2006
I don't like you, but I love you - October 03, 2006

[navigate]
new
old
profile
notes
sign
cast
design
diaryland