I am a mess.


Sidewalks
September 27, 2002 @ 11:40 a.m.

You know, I've really never been one for walking on sidewalks. I insist that other people walk on them, to maintain order in day-to-day life. There's a routine about it that I cherish. But I try my hardest not to take them. Not even in the winter. Not even when I have to hike through snow up to my knees. Not even when there's puddles that cover my feet with their murky brown liquidness.

Sidewalks will ultimately be overgrown, you see. Time makes it so.

The real challenge is finding your way through life without the sidewalks. And that's something I'm battling with right now, and losing. I have no compass, you see, no direction of which way's north. And I've never been here before; I don't recognize any of the landmarks.

Where am I? And, for the first time, where are the sidewalks so I may walk on them?



<< | >>

- - March 22, 2010
always the same - July 01, 2008
b-a-n-a-n-a-s! - December 25, 2006
elementary again - October 29, 2006
I don't like you, but I love you - October 03, 2006

[navigate]
new
old
profile
notes
sign
cast
design
diaryland