I am a mess.


Terrified kids
March 12, 2003 @ 10:17 a.m.

My cousin Jonathan, who is 8 years old, is fearful of planes because of the events of September 11th.

Not just a little fearful. Every time you bring up flying, he literally cringes and his face flushes. My aunt and uncle want to take him down to Florida to see Walt Disney World but he refuses to fly.

My mother and I tried to assure him that there was nothing wrong with flying, that it is highly unlikely that anything will happen to his plane, and that flying is fun and safe.

He would not listen.

This worries me. Jonathan is the type of child to worry more than children should, and part of that is the way that he was raised. However, I am seriously concerned that he is so scared of something that is so unlikely to happen. I mean, how to you explain to a child that terrorism only gets its power if you are afraid? How can you explain that to a terrified 8-year-old?



<< | >>

- - March 22, 2010
always the same - July 01, 2008
b-a-n-a-n-a-s! - December 25, 2006
elementary again - October 29, 2006
I don't like you, but I love you - October 03, 2006

[navigate]
new
old
profile
notes
sign
cast
design
diaryland