I am a mess.


New poetry...finally
March 21, 2002 @ 11:02 a.m.

Poetry. Written last night. Not good poetry. But poetry.

I've broken the spell.

Or rather -- and I hate to admit it -- Kyle has.

Here's the two:

Fireflies

Still I ask

and still you wander, spinning your words

into a fabric too coarse to counter

Still you breathe

and still I expel the sickness in me,

which vogues through the clouds

on an airplane ride to bitterness

Still we both dance

like fireflies through the darkness

around the feelings we cannot chase.

Note: If you don't know who that one is about by now (meaning you're a chronic reader), then you're a bonehead. For those who don't read all the time, it's for Kyle. Click on his name or see the cast page.

Here's the other one.

Squint

The screaming details are what

get us in the end, you and I.

We're both all right as long as

we're hidden under our respective stones.

Neither of us too calm to rationalize,

we step carefully over that ledge

that we both must tumble down eventually.

Being young, we decide that ledge is fatal

and rather live for the moment.

So what happens when the moment has come and gone?

I've already seen her appear, dancing

in a rainbow shroud.

You may need to squint.

Hey, I never said that they were good, people. I just said that I wrote.

There has to be promise in that.



<< | >>

- - March 22, 2010
always the same - July 01, 2008
b-a-n-a-n-a-s! - December 25, 2006
elementary again - October 29, 2006
I don't like you, but I love you - October 03, 2006

[navigate]
new
old
profile
notes
sign
cast
design
diaryland