I am a mess.


Battle wound
April 23, 2002 @ 1:17 p.m.

The blade dances across my skin,

corrupting the tiny hairs

which raise their tiny village in protest.

I fell furthest I've ever been,

am still scrambling out, looking for footholds.

It doesn't bite sharply anymore;

a blunt, dull, boring pain

keeps my mind from more productive hobbies.

And the red numbers fade one into another

as I remember your words

and watch my eyes blur into painful memory.

I am alone, I've convinced myself of it;

no mercy killing of virginity

will change that.

You have beaten me bloody, without

ever raising a fist,

and for a reason to be a self-centered martyr,

I thank you.

My fight was neither valiant nor beautiful;

there was no heightened crashing of swords,

no snarls of rage or envy of innovation.

A coup de grace was administered

a moment too late to be a battle wound.



<< | >>

- - March 22, 2010
always the same - July 01, 2008
b-a-n-a-n-a-s! - December 25, 2006
elementary again - October 29, 2006
I don't like you, but I love you - October 03, 2006

[navigate]
new
old
profile
notes
sign
cast
design
diaryland