I am a mess.


Chunky, obese, fat-ass, etc. etc.
November 15, 2002 @ 11:03 a.m.

After reading Ems's latest diary entry about her mother, I felt compelled to speak. Fucking compelled.

I. am a fat girl.

yes I am.

...And don't argue with me, those who would. I'm not saying it is necessarily bad to be fat.

Although, really. it is.

I was "thin" once. Not stickthin, but thin enough. I weighed between 120 and 130 in eighth grade, before I broke my leg.

"I am fat" rang constantly through my mind.

and now I'm 200+, and you know what rings through my mind?

"I am fat."

You see, there's no difference in 70 pounds. You compare yourself regardless of what you look like. Society, Ems's mother just a microcosm, tells girls how they must be.

And then they wonder how they get to anorexia. How they get to bulimia. How they get to cutting and suicide and self-destructive behaviors.

they wonder.

when they ask for it.

I'm not normally a fan of Oprah. But when she says that being overweight is not a disease, but a symptom, I listen. I hear.

and so should you.

because you ask any girl, any boy, any womanmanIdon'tcarewho why they're overweight. and they will tell you why they eat.

And chances are, it's not about food, kids.

So I felt compelled to write today about what exactly makes people in general fat.

Myself? Textbook case. PCOS, with a sweet tooth and a chronic case of bad timing and laziness.

....should I mention that I'm a undiagnosed depressive with a minor in suicidal thoughts?

no?



<< | >>

- - March 22, 2010
always the same - July 01, 2008
b-a-n-a-n-a-s! - December 25, 2006
elementary again - October 29, 2006
I don't like you, but I love you - October 03, 2006

[navigate]
new
old
profile
notes
sign
cast
design
diaryland