I am a mess.


My faith drug
October 30, 2002 @ 10:36 a.m.

I find that faith is a lot like an addiction: the more you have, the more you need to keep your high. It is both a stimulant and a depressant, like cigarettes in different dosages. I guess if you find Jesus once, you have to keep finding him, or else face the withdrawal symptoms soon enough.

Who was it that said �religion is the opium of the people�? I suppose I am different in questioning what�s in the drug, and how it will hurt me, instead of blindly partaking along with the masses.

I tried faith before, and I found it was friendless, empty. Left me shivering at its ability to use you. And although I am hungry for it sometimes, like now, I also remember how careless I was with it. This drug is not one I can use, even in moderation.

My mind craves peace. Faith is not peace. Faith is killing yourself slowly.

Faith is drugs.



<< | >>

- - March 22, 2010
always the same - July 01, 2008
b-a-n-a-n-a-s! - December 25, 2006
elementary again - October 29, 2006
I don't like you, but I love you - October 03, 2006

[navigate]
new
old
profile
notes
sign
cast
design
diaryland