I am a mess.


The legion, you dummy
November 10, 2002 @ 6:17 p.m.

So...this weekend. Rawked. Ever so much. Everything was perfect. It was such good times. Anyway.

On Friday night Ashley and I made our way down to Iowa City to visit Bobby. Surprisingly enough, we didn't get lost. It seems as though Bobby's instructions were enough to even lead us, two blondes, through the crowded streets of a weekend Iowa City. He ran out of the house just in time for us to see him, and we parked at his place.

All over Iowa City we went. Pizza on Dubuque, some dorms. We looked up David in the campus directory but Ashley and I both knew with our luck we would find him, which with my As Ad shirt on and my ability to swoonthud all over beautiful boys, was something that we did not want to do.

Bobby was a kind kind host, taking us curious folk all over the place. A record store where I felt all High Fidelity-ish but actually recognized some bands in their collection. A couple of other places. Bobby's so much fun. He's so easy to be around, all non-threatening and such. Ashley liked him. I was happy.

On Friday night we decided that we'd head up to the Effigy Mounds up near Wisconsin. Although we really didn't know how to get there, we plotted a general course and then went to sleep. We woke up around 10 the next morning, got ready, ate at Arby's, then headed out. We got to the Mounds after 2 hours of road-tripping, laughing, and singing along at the top of our lungs to Good Charlotte and As Advertised. We only got lost once; took a wrong turn and realized it before the 10-mile mark.

Because we got there later in the day and the sun would be going down soon, we only headed up the hill (understatement of the fucking year, let me tell you) to Fire Point, a lookout across the Mississippi into Wisconsin. It was beautiful. We took pictures. Then we headed back down and headed home.

This morning we awoke around 9:30ish, lazed around a bit. Finally decided Eminem wasn't coming to see us, so we showered and headed for the west side of town. Got to the theater around noon, movie started at 12:15. Ashley and I both were shocked to realize that at least 3 seven year olds were in the audience. Ugh. And people wonder why we have violent children. Pish.

The movie was wonderful. Mr. Mathers can act and I can attest to that. He has sex with Brittany Murphy in the movie. She...um...self-lubricates herself.

You have no idea how ew that was. None at all.

But he can act, and the movie was pretty cool. After that we headed out to Perkins and Ashley treated me to dunch (dinner/lunch; my word) because I had paid for the gas to Effigy Mounds and her movie ticket. I got my honey mustard on my chicken yummies and I was happy. Ashley left just an hour or so ago, and here I sit with my mother at her work, pleasantly full from a Dilly Bar she gave me.

Sometimes life can be good. I wish it was more like this.

There was a vibe I caught from 8 Mile, though. Rabbit has to constantly work for something more. He knows that the future can never be secure, even though he has all of this great talent. Although it sounds corny and wrong, I see myself in that. I realize now how hard I really have to work if I want to make a difference with my poetry.

Eminem and I aren't that different, really. Well, he has a penis. And a legion of fans. But I'm working on it.

...The legion, that is.



<< | >>

- - March 22, 2010
always the same - July 01, 2008
b-a-n-a-n-a-s! - December 25, 2006
elementary again - October 29, 2006
I don't like you, but I love you - October 03, 2006

[navigate]
new
old
profile
notes
sign
cast
design
diaryland