I am a mess.


Fat girl tattoos
November 08, 2002 @ 12:12 p.m.

So. This weekend. I must get excited. Not only because Ashley�s coming, but there�s so much pressure building up on the fact that this must be a good weekend. It�s been planned for a month. It was nearly upset last night by my boss (thank God someone volunteered to work Saturday afternoon). It�s got Bobby in it, Eminem in it, and possibly the Eminem twins.

And I have to be excited. And that�s okay. It�s just such a foreign idea. I�ve gone so long being mostly numb that it�s strange to feel something so pure as unadulterated joy. It�s frightening. But cool, too.

I listened to some girls in theology today talk about tattoos. One girl, who resembles Britney Spears but the wholesome kind of way, the "Hit Me Baby, One More Time" kind of way, said she was afraid of needles but was going to try to get one regardless. The other nodded, said she understood. These were both thin girls.

It got me thinking about myself, and how I'm...well, not thin. I'm not saying that not thin is not beautiful. I hardly equate those two ideas at all (with the exception of myself). But I was thinking today more along the lines of how I could never tattoo something onto myself.

Not only do I not like needles, but I also have tattoos already of my own. Like my stretch marks. Ugly as they may be, they are all over me, and as much a part of me as any other part.

There's also scars, surgical and homemade. The one on my arm from surgery; the one on my knee from falling off a scooter. The 6-inch on my ankle from putting a metal plate in; the left arm scratches from my brother's cat Lucky whom I grabbed rather violently to take to the basement during a tornado.

These are my tattoos. They are what I carry proudly, what I brag of, what I show nonchalantly to see if anyone will notice. This is my history, my philosophy, my self-government.

These are mine.



<< | >>

- - March 22, 2010
always the same - July 01, 2008
b-a-n-a-n-a-s! - December 25, 2006
elementary again - October 29, 2006
I don't like you, but I love you - October 03, 2006

[navigate]
new
old
profile
notes
sign
cast
design
diaryland