I am a mess.


Michelangelo ain't got nothin' on my David
July 15, 2002 @ 3:53 p.m.

I don't know what to think of David, this new boy that I have a crush on. He has a band, if you care. My cousin Ashley says that there's absolutely nothing wrong with him, and I am inclined to agree. From what I've heard and seen he's gorgeous, smart, a musician, a valedictorian. A la Sean, I suppose.

Apparently I've even met this David, although ironically enough I don't remember it well. It was just an introduction and a quick hello. He was there with his girl at the time, and they were riding a giant blowup penis named Captain Pecker.

I thought it best not to say much more than hello.

Everything seems beautiful about him, almost unbelievable. Surely not very feasible as far as I go. Such perfection, I understand Michelangelo's obsession. But obtaining it is a far cry from admiring, and a courageous act.

I am not courageous. I fear beauty. What I fear about it, I don't know. Absence of it from my personal life. The fact that beauty often equals power, and I fear authority. A need to make every issue an issue about beauty. Rather, a compulsion to.

Or maybe he's just an excuse, just a random perfect boy to distract myself from uglier ones I've fallen for.

All I know this that I begin things in my mind before they ever exist in reality. This is my problem with David, with Matt, as it is with all men, and I'm at a loss of how to cure it.



<< | >>

- - March 22, 2010
always the same - July 01, 2008
b-a-n-a-n-a-s! - December 25, 2006
elementary again - October 29, 2006
I don't like you, but I love you - October 03, 2006

[navigate]
new
old
profile
notes
sign
cast
design
diaryland