I am a mess.


My religion
January 16, 2003 @ 4:02 p.m.

We were discussing in my Religions of the East class the other day how everyone has a religion. If you define it correctly, that is true. There is something that everyone has defined for themselves as a higher power, whether it be deistic or otherwise.

Beauty is what I find to be true, more than anything -- if one must have a religion, then surely my religion is the study of beauty. Keats was correct in declaring "beauty truth, and truth beauty" and Dickinson was correct in continuing the thought.

Like any good religion, the study of beauty is purely subjective. It can be found wherever you would look, but one can find something beautiful and another not -- all is subject to scrutiny and opinion of the admirer.

Beauty may be found in whatever can be seen, because this is primarily a physical beauty. Other beauty, like moral beauty, may be seen in action but not necessarily random split seconds, so I refer to physical beauty only. It is found everywhere: the human face (the eyebrow, the jawline, etc.), a mountain, or a flower, beauty can be seen in whatever you can find it in.

I am often inspired into words, or tears, or catching my breath and locking my gaze upon the subject. To me, that is beauty. That is my religion.



<< | >>

- - March 22, 2010
always the same - July 01, 2008
b-a-n-a-n-a-s! - December 25, 2006
elementary again - October 29, 2006
I don't like you, but I love you - October 03, 2006

[navigate]
new
old
profile
notes
sign
cast
design
diaryland