I am a mess.


Rights Schmights
April 02, 2003 @ 9:23 a.m.

I am getting a little fed-up with the quasi-patriotism going on here in the good old U. S. of A. Like he said, leave the damn French alone. They like us. Why pick a fight with someone who likes us, for Chrissakes? And. What's with the people saying that if you don't support the war, then you're not supporting the troops?

I don't agree with this opinion in the least. I support the troops wholeheartedly. I want them to come home. I admire their loyalty to a cause they feel they should fight for. But that does not mean I support that cause. I don't have to.

The rights of Americans begin to falter whenever there is war looming. Suddenly freedom of speech takes a backseat to being patriotic. People are punished, injured, or even killed for being anti-war.

Don't believe me? Ask the Onion.



<< | >>

- - March 22, 2010
always the same - July 01, 2008
b-a-n-a-n-a-s! - December 25, 2006
elementary again - October 29, 2006
I don't like you, but I love you - October 03, 2006

[navigate]
new
old
profile
notes
sign
cast
design
diaryland