I am a mess.


How can you tell my father's a Russian?
September 06, 2002 @ 12:00 p.m.

My father is in the hospital. At least, he's supposed to be.

My father's friend Gary called last night and told my mother that my father had been doing some heavy drinking and had collapsed. Although the ambulance was called, he refused to take it, and Gary didn't know where he was then. Gary thought my father was probably at Gary's place, but wasn't sure.

The reason my father collapses (he has before) is that when he drinks, he does not eat, and therefore his electrolytes and especially his potassium gets very low. Like in, deathly low. He's been in the hospital before; I've visited him two or three different times.

What happens is that when his electrolytes get too low, he'll pass out (often when he is out in public), often hit his head as he falls, and will have seizures. He's been treated for alcoholism several times and I believe he's even been in jail before for drunk driving, although I can't remember for sure.

And yet he still drinks.

...And people still wonder why I have so many issues, and so many of them stem from my father.

So I don't know exactly where my father is or how he's doing today. My guess is that he told someone to get him some bananas and Gatorade and everything will be fine in a week, so he can drink again.

...back to normal, again.



<< | >>

- - March 22, 2010
always the same - July 01, 2008
b-a-n-a-n-a-s! - December 25, 2006
elementary again - October 29, 2006
I don't like you, but I love you - October 03, 2006

[navigate]
new
old
profile
notes
sign
cast
design
diaryland